About Us

GREAT ESF Research Network Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of the GREAT- ESF Research Networking Programme is composed of the nominated representatives of those ESF member countries supporting GREAT

  • Dr Nicholas Walton (Chair: Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Dr Francois Mignard (Co-Chair, Obs de la Cote d'Azur, France)
  • Dr Timo Prusti (Gaia Project Scientist, ESTEC, ESA: advisory expert)
  • Prof Conny Aerts (University of Leuven, Belgium)
  • Dr Anthony Brown (University of Leiden, The Netherlands)
  • Dr Josef Durech (Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic)
  • Dr Laurent Eyer (Obs de Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Prof Eva Grebel (ARI, Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Dr Carme Jordi (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
  • Prof Joao Alves (University of Vienna, Austria) (from Apr 2012)
  • Prof Lennart Lindegren (Lund Obseravtory, Sweden)
  • Dr Andre Moitinho de Almeida (SIM, University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Prof Karri Muinonen (University of Helsinki & Finnish Geodetic Institute, Finland)
  • Dr Dimitri Pourbaix (Universite Libre Bruxelles, Belgium)
  • Dr Sofia Randich (Observatory of Arcetri, INAF, Italy)

From the ESF:
  • Dr Thibaut Lery (ESF Science Officer)
  • Ms Catherine Werner (ESF liaison)

Previous Members:
  • Dr Thomas Lebzelter (University of Vienna, Austria) (until Apr 2012)

For further details please see the GREAT ESF pages at

Page revised: 15 April 2012 by NAW